Robeson Community College receives financial assistance from local, state, and federal sources allowing each student an educational opportunity at minimum cost. Tuition is established by the North Carolina State Legislature and is subject to change without notification. The payments of tuition and fees for each term are required at registration.
- Tuition fees are governed according to in-state or out-of-state residency and according to full-time or part-time status.
- To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least 12 months immediately prior to his or her classification as a resident for tuition purposes. Every applicant for admission shall be required to make a statement as to length of residence in the State.
- To be eligible for classification as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must establish that his or her presence in the State currently is, and during the requisite 12-month qualifying period, was for purposes of maintaining a bona fide domicile rather than of maintaining a mere temporary residence of abode incident to enrollment in an institution of higher education.
- An individual shall not be classified as a resident for tuition purposes and, thus, not rendered eligible to receive the In-State tuition rate, until he or she has provided such evidence related to legal residence and its duration as may be required by officials of the College.
- Regulations concerning the classification of students by residence for purposes of applicable tuition differentials are set forth in detail in A Manual to Assist the Public Higher Education Institutions of North Carolina in the Matter of Student Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes.
- Each enrolled student is responsible for knowing the administrative statement of policy on this subject. Copies of the manual are available on residency. This information is available for review on the college’s website at www.robeson.edu/policy [opens in a new tab].
Fall, Spring and Summer Semester
|Full-Time (12 or more credit hours)
| 12 credit hours
| 13 credit hours
| 14 credit hours
| 15 credit hours
| 16 credit hours or more
| 12 credit hours
| 13 credit hours
| 14 credit hours
| 15 credit hours
| 16 credit hours or more
|Part-Time (less than 12 credit hours)
||$76.00 per credit hour
||$268.00 per credit hour
Tuition rates are subject to change without notice.
Personnel in the Armed Services
Any active duty member of the armed services or a military dependent who does not qualify as a North Carolina resident for tuition purposes may be eligible to pay a reduced tuition rate if eligibility requirements for the Military Tuition Benefit (N.C. General Statue Section 116-143.3) have been met. Members for reserve components are not eligible for the benefit unless they have been called up for active duty.
Breakage, damage, or loss due to negligence, carelessness, or other mishandling of school supplies, materials, or equipment by students is the responsibility of said students. They will be required to pay for damages to such items and may be subject to disciplinary action.
The charge for cap, gown, and diploma is paid by the student directly to the manufacturer. Students may order announcements, personal cards, and/or college rings when ordering caps and gowns.
Students with outstanding financial obligations to the College will not be permitted to register for a new semester/term until the account balance has been satisfied. Additionally, the College will not issue transcripts nor permit students to graduate until all financial obligations are resolved.
Science Laboratory Fees
A $20.00 lab fee is charged for each physical or biological science course with a laboratory component. The lab fee is nonrefundable and may vary from course to course and year to year.
Student Activity Fee
Each student enrolled in 12 semester credit hours or more (full-time status) will pay a $25.00 student activity fee per term. Part-time students (less than 12 semester hours credit) will pay an activity fee of $15.00 per term. Activity fees are charged for enrollment in Fall and Spring Semesters. Summer session students are not required to pay an activity fee. The activity fee is due and payable in the above stated amount at registration. This fee is nonrefundable.
For all full-time and part-time curriculum students, a portion of the activity fee will go towards accident insurance. This accident policy covers only bodily injuries caused by school related accidents while attending school during the hours and on days when school is in session.
The remainder of the student activity fee is to be used by the Student Government Association for such items as entertainment, athletic equipment, ID cards, conventions, and other appropriate activities.
Pre-College Lab Fee (CHM-090, DMS-003 and DRE-097)
A laboratory fee of $10.00 is charged to all students enrolled in a pre-college class. The fee is used to provide support in the pre-college classrooms. The fee is charged to all enrolled students and is due at the time the tuition is paid each semester. The fee is non-refundable.
Campus Access and Security Fee
The fee for students enrolled at RCC is $7.50 per Fall and Spring/Summer Semester. The permit will enable you to park in any of the parking spaces for which the permit is designated. Only those motor vehicles which display a valid permit are entitled to park in designated campus parking lots. Enforcement for parking permits will begin the third week of the semester.
A technology fee of $24.00 is charged fall and spring semesters to support technology services provided by the College. The fee is charged to all enrolled students and is due at the time that tuition is paid each semester. The fee is non-refundable.
Transcript Service Fee
RCC charges a $5 fee per copy for official and unofficial transcripts. Payment should be made to the RCC Business Office. Students requesting a copy of their transcript from Robeson Community College should make application to the Registrar’s Office five days before it is needed. Same day service (On-Demand) is $10 for each transcript requested. Same day service may not be available during some high-volume periods including, but not limited to, graduation, end of semester grade submission, and late registration.
Transcripts are normally issued every business day except during registration and drop/add. Robeson Community College will not issue a transcipt for any student who has an existing financial obligation to the school. However, this does not prevent the student from inspecting or reviewing his record. The request form for transcripts can be found at: http://www.robeson.edu/registration [opens in a new tab].
The college strives to offer next business day service, with availability beginning about 1 p.m. In order to receive a transcript on the next business day at 1 p.m., the written request must be turned in to the Records and Registration Office during business hours on the previous day. Indicate on the form that you WILL PICK UP or the transcript will be mailed to the address you provided. Official transcripts will be mailed directly to the person or organization named on the Transcript Request Form which is available on the Records and Registration web page (www.robeson.edu/registration [opens in a new tab]). Official copies are not ordinarily issued to the student and must be specifically requested.
Robeson Community College is not responsible for transcripts that are not received by the person or organization named on the Transcript Request Form. Robeson Community College does not send or accept faxed transcripts. However, it is acceptable to fax a written request for a transcript.
A picture I.D. is required to pick up transcripts as well as any other student documentation.
Accident insurance covering the student during school hours is currently available each semester. The cost is covered from the activity fee for all curriculum students (full-time and part-time). It is a limited policy covering only bodily injuries caused by school-related accidents. Contact the Business Office located in Building 2 for more information concerning coverage. All claims should be reported to the Business Office.
Textbooks may be purchased in the bookstore. Cost of books vary according to the course of study. Normally, the average cost per semester is $400 for diploma programs and $825 for degree programs.
Some courses may require the use of electronic textbooks (etextbook) in lieu of traditional textbooks. Students who register for these courses will be required to have an appropriate device such as a laptop or tablet to access the etextbook for the course and will be required to bring the device to scheduled class meetings. WebAdvisor will denote course sections that require an etextbook.
The policies relating to tuition refund for students are determined by the North Carolina Community College System Statewide Refund Policy for all North Carolina Community Colleges. All non-tuition based fees, such as: activity, lab, technology, etc. are non-refundable.
- A refund shall not be made except under the following circumstances:
- A 100 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws prior to the first day of class(es) of the academic semester or term as noted in the college calendar. Also, a student is eligible for a 100 percent refund if the class in which the student is officially registered is cancelled due to insufficient enrollment.
- A 75 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class(es) prior to or on the official 10 percent point of the semester.
- A student is not officially withdrawn from a course until a completed Drop Form has been submitted and processed by the Records Office. The effective date of withdrawal is the day the Records Office receives the completed form.
Examples of refund when dropping and adding classes:
Drop/Add with No Penalty after Class(es) has/have Started:
After the class(es) has/have started, students should complete all drop/add transactions in one process. If a student change(s) or drop(s) class(es), of equal hours during the same computer transaction, no additional cost will be incurred.
Drop/Add with a 75% Refund after Class(es) has/have Started:
If the number of hours dropped are greater than the number of hours added, the 75% refund policy will apply to the tuition cost for the hours dropped.
- For classes beginning at times other than the first week (seven calendar days) of the semester a 100 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to the first class meeting. A 75 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to or on the 10 percent point of the class.
- A 100 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from a contact hour class prior to the first day of class of the academic semester or term or if the college cancels the class. A 75 percent refund shall be made if the student officially withdraws from a contact hour class on or before the tenth calendar day of the class.
- Students who have not officially withdrawn and have not attended at least once by the 10 percent date of the term will be dropped by the instructor as “never attended.” No tuititon and fee adjustments/refunds will be made.
- To comply with applicable federal regulations regarding refunds, federal regulations supersede the state refund regulations stated in this Rule.
- When a student, having paid the required tuition for a semester, dies during that semester (prior to or on the last day of examinations of the college the student was attending), all tuition and fees for that semester may be refunded to the estate of the deceased.
- For a class(es) which the college collects receipts which are not required to be deposited into the State Treasury account, the college shall adopt local refund policies.
Self Supporting Courses
- The college will refund 100% of tuition paid if the student officially withdraws from the class prior to the first day of the term.
- The college will refund 100% of tuition paid for any classes cancelled by the college.
- No refund will be given for a self-supporting course on or after the first day of the term. This includes students who withdraw after the first day of the term or never attend.
Military Tuition Refund
Upon request of the student, each college shall:
- Grant a full refund of tuition and fees to military reserve and National Guard personnel called to active duty or active duty personnel who have received temporary or permanent reassignments as a result of military operations then taking place outside the state of North Carolina that make it impossible for them to complete their course requirements; and
- Buy back textbooks through the colleges’ bookstore operations to the extent possible. Colleges shall use distance learning technologies and other educational methodologies to help these students, under the guidance of faculty and administrative staff, complete their course requirements.